chicago tribune review: Michael Cunningham’s ‘The Snow Queen’

lineplain

 

It’s published, friends. My review ran while I was away traveling. All 800-ish words of it. And though I can partially attribute this gig to a tremendously long stretch of time spent givin’ it away for free: reviewing and writing and blogging and reading about reviewing and writing and blogging, I owe a huge debt of gratitude to this guy for giving me the guts to query The Chicago Tribune:

 

AJ-Jacobs

 

A.J. Jacobs, Editor at Large, Esquire Magazine

 

Author of:

The Know it All: One Man’s Humble Quest to Become the Smartest Person in the World

My Life As an Experiment: One Man’s Humble Quest to Improve Himself

The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible As Literally As Possible

Drop Dead Healthy: One Man’s Humble Quest for Bodily Perfection

 

lineplain

 

Because this guy? This guy believes in me. When I’m all down and dejected after suffering the slings and arrows of outrageous life, he’s there with a kind word, a “‘You can do this.”

You can do this. Powerful words when you’re lying on the ground, wallowing in despair in a manner most unbecoming a professional.

A.J. gives me unconditional support and for that I don’t have words enough to say thank you.

Except a simple “Thank you, A.J.”

 

lineplain

 

ajjacobs

 

Aaaand, put some clothes on before you freeze to death.

 

lineplain

 

Here is the link to my review of Michael Cunningham’s latest novel The Snow Queen, published in the Chicago Tribune.


snowqueen

 

He’ll say it isn’t true, that I had it in me to click my ruby slippers and get home all along, but don’t believe that for a moment. Few writers who’ve made it have time to worry about those of us who struggle. The ones who do are gems without price.

Thank you, A.J. Can’t say it enough.

lineplain

 Kindness, I’ve discovered, is everything in life.

– Isaac Bashevis Singer

lineplain

3 thoughts on “chicago tribune review: Michael Cunningham’s ‘The Snow Queen’

  1. Chris Sullivan

    Congratulations, not only on having your review published in the Chicago Tribune but writing a great review. I love Michael Cunningham and this book is on my TBR. What a lovely surprise to come home to after your holiday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

